Becoming Licensed as a Funeral Director or Embalmer in Texas

BECOMING LICENSED IN TEXAS

There are two paths to becoming a licensed funeral director/embalmer in Texas. The first path requires a person to go through the TFSC's provisional licensing program. This program allows an individual to get practical experience under the direct and personal supervision of a Texas licensed funeral director/embalmer. The second path is to reciprocate an active license from another state.

All licensed funeral directors/embalmers must meet the following requirements:

1. Be at least 18 years of age
2. Graduated from an accredited high school or passed GED
3. Graduated from an accredited school or college of mortuary science
4. Successfully completed the provisional licensing program (unless reciprocating from another state)
5. Successfully completed the National Board Exams and the Texas Mortuary Law Exam (passing grade of 75%)

 

PROVISIONAL LICENSE PROGRAM

State law and Commission rule require Provisional License Applicants to meet the following guidelines:

1. Be at least 18 years of age
2. Have graduated or be enrolled in an accredited school or college of mortuary science (*see below)
3. Be employed during the entirety of the program by a funeral director/embalmer under the direct instruction and supervision of the FDIC/EIC
4. Submit to a FBI Background check
5. Successfully pass the Texas Mortuary Law Exam prior to licensure
6. Comply with the requirements of Tex. Occ. Code, Chapter 651 and the Rules of the Commission

 

 Provisional Funeral Director Application Packet

 Provisional Embalmer Application Packet

 

APPLYING FOR A PROVISIONAL EDUCATIONAL WAIVER 

A person who has never applied to an accredited school or college of mortuary science, may apply for an "Education Waiver" and receive a provisional license for a period of 12 months. However, the license will not be renewed until the licensee submits an enrollment letter from an accredited school or college of mortuary science.

 Provisional Educational Waiver FD Application

 Provisional Educational Waiver EMB Application

 

An applicant who wishes to be both a funeral director and an embalmer must submit both applications. The provisional license issued will indicate if the person is in the Funeral Director or Embalmer program. A provisional licensee who is in both programs will receive two licenses.

Important Forms for Provisional Licensees

 Provisional Licensee Reporting Form

 Provisional Licensee Form to Change/Add Employment

 

Path to Licensure by Exiting Directly from the Provisional Program:

In order to exit the provisional program to full licensure, a provisional licensee must submit the Provisional Exit Checklist which affirms the licensee has provided the Commission the following:

1. Certified transcript from accredited mortuary school or college that shows the degree awarded with the date conferred
2. Certificate from International Conference of Funeral Examining Boards providing National/State Board Examination score(s) of 75% or better
3. Mortuary Law Exam with score of 75% or better
4. Provisional Licensee Reporting Form(s) showing 45 completed cases with each case signed by the supervisor and FDIC/EIC

Until all administrative paperwork is returned and reviewed by the Commission, licensees REMAIN on provisional status as long as the license has not expired.

 

Path to Licensure by NOT exiting directly from the Provisional Program - "ALTERNATIVE WAY"

If you are exiting directly from the provisional program, this application is NOT for you.

If a person is not able to exit directly from the provisional program to full licensure, the person has the option to complete the education or testing requirements while unlicensed. As the person is not licensed, the person may NOT perform acts of funeral directing or embalming. All case work must be completed during the period while the person was licensed as a provisional licensee by the Commission.

Once the person has met the requirements listed at the top of the page, the person may complete an ALTERNATIVE application and pay the application fee, re-take and pass the Texas Mortuary Law Exam and re-submit to a criminal background check. The person must have held a Texas provisional license no more than 24 months from the last case preformed prior to application.

 Funeral Director ALTERNATIVE Application

 Embalmer ALTERNATIVE Application

The application will require the person to submit the following information:

1. Certified transcript from accredited mortuary school or college that shows the degree awarded with the date conferred
2. Certificate from International Conference of Funeral Examining Boards providing National/State Board Examination score(s) of 75% or better
3. Provisional Licensee Reporting Form showing 45 completed cases (last case cannot be more than 24 months old) with each case signed by supervisor and FDIC/EIC

 

RECIPROCAL LICENSE PROGRAM

A person can become a licensed Funeral Director and Embalmer through a reciprocal licensing program where individuals licensed in good standing in another state can be awarded a Funeral Director's and/or Embalmer's license in Texas. For those states with substantially similar licensing requirements, the applicant would need to have been licensed by that state for a minimum of one year. For those states that do not have similar licensing requirements, the applicant would need to have been licensed by that state for a minimum of five years.

Applicants must complete the application packet, successfully pass the Mortuary Law Exam and submit to a FBI Background check.

 Reciprocal Application Packet

 

MILITARY LICENSING

If you are a member of the military, former member of the military or the spouse of a member of the military, please contact the TFSC for expedited licensing requirements.