The TFSC may suspend/revoke a current license or deny issuing a license to a person on the grounds that the applicant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor that directly relates to the duties and responsibilities of an occupation licensed under Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 651. A list of crimes related to the occupations of funeral directing and embalming can be found at Texas Admin. Code 203.16(h)
The TFSC has created guidelines to assist in the evaluation of applicantions for licensure for those applicants who have a criminal conviction. The guidelines can be found here.
An applicant, current licensee or potential applicant should fill out one of the three different questionnaires found below.
Texas Admin. Code 203.15(b) requires current licensees to disclose any conviction related to the occupations of funeral directing or embalming at the time of renewal or no later than 30 days after judgment in trial court, whichever date is earlier.
Provisional and Reciprocal Applicants
Texas Admin. Code 203.15(a) requires applicants for licensure to disclose at the time of application any conviction related to the occupations of funeral directing or embalming.
A person who has not submitted an application for licensure can seek a Criminal History Evaluation Letter to determine the applicant’s eligibility for licensure PRIOR to him/her beginning occupational training or investing in a licensing examination. There is a $95 fee for processing these requests.
Depending on an applicant’s criminal history, the review can take from one to six weeks to complete. Once the review process has begun, TFSC staff may contact the applicant if necessary. Completed questionnaires outlining felony convictions will be considered by Commissioners at the next regularly scheduled Commission meeting. Completed questionanaires outlining misdemeanor convictions will be considered by the Executive Director as submitted.